“Walk on, walk on
With hope in your heart 
And you will never walk alone.”

-Rodgers & Hammerstein, Carousel


Why We Exist

This website exists as an extension of the mission of the Community Coalition on Grief & Bereavement in the four counties of the northwest corner of Michigan’s Upper Peninsula.  


Mission Statement:  

The Mission of the Community Coalition on Grief & Bereavement is to provide grief education, support and referrals to the people of Baraga, Houghton, Keweenaw and Ontonagon Counties.


Goals and Objectives:

  • To provide grief education, support, and referrals to the people of Baraga, Houghton, Keweenaw and Ontonagon Counties.
    • Collaborate with community groups to present educational seminar/workshops..
    • Keep the public up to date on grief education opportunities on our web site.
    • Continue to collaborate with Dial Help in providing grief support at requested.
  • To Improve the financial status of the coalition.
    • Seek opportunities for grant funding for coalition efforts.
    • Educate the community on the benefit of donating to our 501c3 organization.
    • Continue to sell coalition postcards at community events.
  • To provide awareness of the mission of the coalition to the community.
    • Continue to publish coalition minutes and information on our website.
    • Maintain the coalition’s visibility in the community by seeking media coverage for meetings, programs, and events.
    • Recruit new Members.
    • Collaborate with other organizations pursuing similar mission.
    • Promote community grief and bereavement program from the coalition speaker’s bureau.

Click here to view our Meeting Minutes


2018 – 2019 Officers

Executive Committee

  • Nancy Wakeman, Chairperson      2019
  • Marja Salani, Vice-Chairperson     2020
  • Barbara Kendall, Secretary             2020
  • Kathryn Moore, Treasurer               2019
  • Bonnie Johnson, Financial Auditor  2019

Members at Large             

  • Michael Lutz                       2020
  • Sarah Baratono                  2020
  • Kristine Putz                       2020
  • Pam Anderson                   2019
  • Debby Vaara                       2019
  • Cindy Drake                        2019